Public-record evidence dossier

Alan Wapner & the Ontario International Airport Authority

Compensation, stipends, votes & governance

Evidence status: Ongoing primary-record review — record integrity update September 22, 2026Last updated:

This evidence dossier examines public records concerning Alan Wapner's compensation, stipends, reimbursements and related governance decisions during his service on the Ontario International Airport Authority. It distinguishes compensation authorized by the Commission from payments independently verified through financial records and separates documented voting conduct from unresolved legal questions.

2-MINUTE SUMMARY

A plain-English guide to the OIAA record

WHAT THE RECORDS SHOW

OIAA is the Ontario International Airport Authority, where Alan Wapner served as a commissioner. Commissioners received compensation under OIAA bylaws, and those rules changed over time. Daily Bulletin reporting based on OIAA records identified approximately $233,449 in Wapner stipends from 2017 through July 2026; Wapner Watch is independently reconstructing that history from primary records. The records show that Wapner participated in some compensation-related votes and was absent from others. Authorized compensation, actual payment, reimbursements, and expenses paid by OIAA are different categories.

WHY THIS MATTERS

These records allow citizens to examine how commissioner compensation was structured, how Wapner’s additional stipends were approved, how he participated in certain related votes, and how those compensation rules changed over time. Compensation or a vote alone does not establish wrongdoing.

WHAT WE DON’T KNOW

The present record does not yet fully establish every actual payment underlying the reported $233,449, the complete reimbursement and travel total, who originally initiated every compensation-policy change, or whether any particular vote legally required recusal.

WHAT WE ARE NOT CLAIMING

  • A compensation-related vote does not automatically establish an unlawful conflict.
  • The records do not by themselves establish corruption or criminal conduct.
  • Authorization is not the same thing as proof of payment.
  • Wapner did not personally participate in every stipend-approval vote.

DID WAPNER PARTICIPATE IN COMPENSATION-RELATED VOTES?

JANUARY 25, 2024
Official records show Wapner participated in the unanimous Commission vote adopting revised commissioner compensation provisions.

JANUARY 23, 2025
Official records indicate Wapner participated in a consent-calendar vote containing additional stipend authorization applicable to him.

FEBRUARY 27, 2025
Wapner was absent when another stipend authorization involving him was approved.

Participation was not uniform across every compensation-related action.

LEGAL STATUS
Whether a particular vote required recusal or violated California conflict-of-interest law remains a separate legal question unless authoritative legal analysis establishes otherwise.

What the available record establishes

The identified records document the original commissioner stipend framework in 2016 and Wapner's presence as Commission President at the unanimous bylaws vote.

Available packets document recurring additional-stipend requests and approvals; the record must be read meeting by meeting because some packets contain only an agenda and staff report.

Resolution No. 2024-01 adopted a revised compensation formula on January 25, 2024, with the record identifying Wapner as present and participating in the unanimous vote.

The January 23, 2025 minutes record a 4 Yes / 0 No / 1 Absent consent-calendar approval including Wapner's December 2024 additional stipends; the February 27, 2025 minutes record his absence when January 2025 additional stipends were approved.

Daily Bulletin reporting cited elsewhere on Wapner Watch reports approximately $233,449 in OIAA stipends from 2017 through July 2026. Reconciliation against primary accounting records remains incomplete.

The February 26, 2026 agenda materials document that January 2026 additional stipends for Wapner were submitted for Commission approval. A subsequently located set of OIAA minutes for that meeting records approval and identifies Wapner as an excused absence, but contains an apparent internal inconsistency: language elsewhere in the same record attributes the call to order to President Wapner. The publication and version history of these minutes has not yet been established.

What we are not claiming

  • Criminal conduct, corruption, or an unlawful conflict of interest.
  • That Wapner personally originated either compensation formula.
  • That every authorized stipend was actually paid.
  • The complete amount of reimbursements, travel expenses, or other amounts paid on Wapner's behalf.

RECORD UPDATE — SEPTEMBER 22, 2026

DOCUMENT VERSION / RECORD INTEGRITY REVIEW — MARCH 26 PACKET PROVENANCE ESTABLISHED

Wapner Watch has located OIAA minutes for the February 26, 2026 meeting. Those minutes contain an apparent internal inconsistency: the attendance and voting portions identify Wapner as an excused absence, while language elsewhere in the same record attributes the call to order to President Wapner. A significant provenance development has now been identified: the contradictory attendance language was not first discovered in a recently posted standalone copy. The February 26 minutes were also incorporated into OIAA's subsequent March 26, 2026 agenda packet. That contemporaneous official packet already contains both the "President Wapner called" language and the formal attendance record identifying Alan Wapner and Julia Gouw as "EXCUSED ABSENCE." The record also reflects Vice President Curt Hagman conducting subsequent portions of the meeting. This materially strengthens the provenance of the attendance notation because it demonstrates that the inconsistency existed in an official OIAA record considerably earlier than the September 2026 investigation.

Evidentiary sequence — February 26, 2026

Agenda / Staff Report

VERIFIED

February 26, 2026 OIAA agenda materials requested approval of additional stipends for President Alan Wapner for Authority-related functions performed during January 2026. Staff report identifies 11 additional functions at $150 each = $1,650.

Final Action

APPROVAL VERIFIED — WAPNER ABSENT PER CURRENT RECORD

Current OIAA minutes record approval of the relevant consent-calendar item and identify Wapner as an excused absence from the meeting.

Attendance — Conflicting Language

ATTENDANCE — CONFLICTING CONTEMPORANEOUS PRIMARY-RECORD LANGUAGE

An internal inconsistency exists within the meeting record: the attendance and voting portions identify Wapner as absent, while language elsewhere in the same record apparently attributes the call to order to President Wapner. CRITICALLY: this same contradictory language appears in the February 26 minutes embedded in OIAA's March 26, 2026 agenda packet — an official record predating the September 2026 investigation by months.

Later-Correction Hypothesis

LATER-CORRECTION HYPOTHESIS — NOT ESTABLISHED BY CURRENT VERSION HISTORY

The March 26 packet demonstrates the contradictory language existed in an official OIAA record considerably before the September 2026 compensation inquiry. The currently known evidence does NOT support describing the Wapner-absence notation as something first inserted after the later inquiry. The contradiction itself remains unresolved.

Actual Payment

NOT YET ESTABLISHED BY THIS RECORD

The minutes record an authorization action. No cash-disbursement or payroll record has been obtained to independently verify whether the authorized amount was actually paid.

What the located records establish

  • OIAA currently publishes minutes for the February 26, 2026 meeting that identify Wapner as an excused absence.
  • Those minutes record approval of the relevant consent-calendar item without Wapner listed among the participating commissioners.
  • The same record contains language apparently attributing the opening of the meeting to President Wapner.
  • The February 26 agenda materials independently establish that approval of Wapner's January 2026 additional stipends (11 functions / $1,650) was before the Commission.
  • VERIFIED: The contradictory attendance language existed in the February 26 minutes contained in OIAA's March 26, 2026 meeting packet — an official record predating the September 2026 investigation.
  • The March 26 packet reflects Vice President Curt Hagman conducting subsequent portions of the February 26 meeting.
  • The March 26 packet materially strengthens the provenance of the attendance notation by demonstrating the inconsistency existed considerably earlier than the September investigation.

What the located records do NOT establish

  • Which of the two conflicting attendance statements is factually correct.
  • Whether Wapner actually called the February 26 meeting to order.
  • Whether the "President Wapner called" language is a template or copying error.
  • Whether the "excused absence" notation is erroneous.
  • Whether an even earlier draft or version contained different language.
  • Whether OIAA ever corrected, replaced, amended, or re-uploaded an earlier version.
  • Whether any record alteration occurred.
  • That OIAA changed a record in response to Wapner Watch, news reporting, a public-records inquiry, or any investigation.
  • That anyone attempted to conceal misconduct.
  • Whether the authorized stipend amount was ultimately disbursed.
  • Whether any compensation-related action violated conflict-of-interest or other law.

Version-history research flag

The following items have been identified for preservation and comparison to establish the complete publication and version history of the February 26, 2026 OIAA minutes. The February 26 minutes embedded in the March 26, 2026 agenda packet have been located and are a key provenance anchor.

  1. February 26, 2026 agenda packet as originally published.
  2. February 26 minutes embedded in the March 26, 2026 OIAA agenda packet — LOCATED; contains both the "President Wapner called" language and the "EXCUSED ABSENCE" notation.
  3. Current standalone February 26 minutes PDF.
  4. Available PDF metadata and file modification information for both the March 26 packet and the standalone minutes.
  5. OIAA webpage/archive timestamps where independently recoverable.
  6. Internet Archive or other authenticated historical captures.
  7. Commission approval of the February 26 minutes (which meeting; which agenda item).
  8. Any amended or corrected-minutes notation.
  9. Meeting video/audio or transcript sufficient to establish attendance and the actual vote.
  10. Any OIAA correspondence concerning correction, replacement, publication, or amendment of these minutes.
  11. Any version of the February 26 minutes predating the March 26 packet embedding.

If additional versions are recovered, Wapner Watch will compare them directly against the March 26 packet version and the current standalone PDF. Material differences involving attendance, voting, recusals/conflict declarations, stipend amounts, number of qualifying functions, approval language, or meeting leadership will be displayed.

This update preserves the evidentiary trail and incorporates the March 26, 2026 packet provenance finding. The March 26 packet is not characterized as resolving the attendance question — it establishes that the contradictory language existed in an official record considerably before the September 2026 investigation, which is a material provenance fact. No conclusion of cover-up, illegal vote, or fabricated record is drawn from the available record. The factual attendance question is not resolved solely by selecting whichever statement appears in the formal roll call.

Record accessed:

Chronological record

Commission actions and participation

Jump to document library

The OIAA Commission considered and unanimously adopted Resolution No. 2024-01, approving revisions and modifications to the Authority bylaws, including Article IV, Section 6.

Revised the general commissioner formula to a $1,000 monthly stipend covering six Authority-related functions or events, plus $150 per qualifying function beyond six with majority Commission approval.

Wapner present?
Yes — Commission President
Participation
Yes — present for the unanimous vote
Vote
Moved by Curt Hagman; seconded by Jim Bowman; approved unanimously.
Conflict declaration
Not established from the supplied record

Primary documents: S-66 (January 25, 2024 agenda, Resolution 2024-01, and attached January 25 minutes at pp. 3, 15, 23–32); S-67 (attached January 25 minutes at pp. 11–16)

The OIAA Commission adopted Resolution No. 2016-014 approving and adopting the Authority bylaws.

Later OIAA staff reports identify this resolution as the adoption point for the then-effective Article IV, Section 6 stipend framework. The December 8 minutes supplied here do not include the enacted bylaws or identify who developed the formula.

Wapner present?
Yes — Commission President
Participation
Yes — the minutes show he called the meeting to order; the vote was unanimous.
Vote
Moved by Secretary Dunn; seconded by Commissioner Hagman; carried unanimously.
Conflict declaration
The supplied minutes do not state a conflict declaration for this action.

Primary documents: S-70 (minutes pp. 1–3: attendance and Commission action); S-78 (agenda packet, staff materials, and original bylaws)

Consent Calendar Item 4 sought approval of additional September 2017 stipends for President Alan Wapner and Commissioner Curt Hagman.

The Item 4 report identifies three additional Authority-related business functions for Wapner and quotes the then-stated $150-per-function framework. It seeks full Commission approval; the packet does not establish final approval or payment.

Wapner present?
Listed in the meeting roll call; final attendance is not established by the agenda packet.
Participation
Not established from the supplied agenda packet.
Vote
October 24 minutes or a certified action record are required to establish final action and vote.
Conflict declaration
Agenda includes the conflict-information item; no final minutes are supplied.

Primary documents: S-71 (agenda pp. 3–4; Item 4 staff report pp. 20–21)

Consent Calendar Item 4 sought approval of additional meeting stipends for President Alan Wapner for July and August 2019, and Commissioner Curt Hagman for July 2019.

The staff report identified two additional Authority-related functions for Wapner in July and two in August. Under the then-stated $150-per-function formula, it sought full Commission approval for those additional-stipend payments.

Wapner present?
Listed in the meeting roll call; final attendance and vote are not established by this agenda packet.
Participation
Not established from the supplied agenda packet.
Vote
Agenda and staff report state the requested action; minutes or a certified action record are needed to confirm final approval and vote.
Conflict declaration
Agenda includes the conflict-information item; no final meeting minutes are included to confirm disclosures or abstentions.

Primary documents: S-64 (agenda pp. 2–3; Item 4 staff report pp. 17–18)

Consent Calendar Item 4 sought approval of additional meeting stipends for President Alan Wapner for July 2020.

The staff report recorded 14 additional Authority-related functions and stated that full Commission approval was needed under the then-stated $150-per-function formula.

Wapner present?
Listed in the meeting roll call; final attendance and vote are not established by this agenda packet.
Participation
Not established from the supplied agenda packet.
Vote
Agenda and staff report state the requested action; August 27 meeting minutes or a certified action record are needed to confirm final approval and vote.
Conflict declaration
Agenda includes the conflict-information item; no final meeting minutes are included to confirm disclosures or abstentions.

Primary documents: S-65 (agenda pp. 2–4; Item 4 staff report pp. 18–19)

Consent Calendar Item 4 approved additional December 2024 stipends for President Alan Wapner.

Staff reported 12 additional functions; the stated formula supports a proposed $1,800 additional stipend, separate from the $1,000 monthly base.

Wapner present?
Yes
Participation
Yes — minutes indicate he was present for the 4–0 consent-calendar approval.
Vote
4 Yes / 0 No / 1 Absent (Gouw)
Conflict declaration
No conflicts declared in the minutes

Primary documents: S-60 (agenda and staff report); S-61 (attached January 23 minutes)

Consent Calendar Item 4 approved additional January 2025 stipends for President Alan Wapner.

Staff reported 13 additional functions; the stated formula supports a proposed $1,950 additional stipend, separate from the $1,000 monthly base.

Wapner present?
No — absent
Participation
No — absent from the recorded vote.
Vote
4 Yes / 0 No / 1 Absent (Wapner)
Conflict declaration
No conflicts declared in the minutes

Primary documents: S-61 (agenda and staff report); S-62 (attached February 27 minutes)

The February 22, 2024 OIAA Commission minutes record approval of additional January 2024 stipends for President Alan Wapner as a consent-calendar item. Wapner was absent from the meeting; the vote was 3–0 with Gouw and Wapner both absent.

January 2024 additional stipends authorized by the Commission. The staff report recorded 17 additional Authority-related functions. The applicable per-function rate was in transition following adoption of Resolution 2024-01 on January 25; the February 22 staff report repeated the earlier $150-per-function language. Actual disbursement not established from a payment record.

Wapner present?
No — absent. Official February 22, 2024 minutes confirm Wapner was absent.
Participation
No — Wapner did not participate in the vote approving this stipend authorization.
Vote
APPROVAL VERIFIED — WAPNER ABSENT. 3 Yes / 0 No / 2 Absent (Gouw and Wapner). Wapner did not vote on the consent-calendar item authorizing his own additional stipends.
Conflict declaration
Not applicable — Wapner was absent from the meeting.

Primary documents: S-66 (January 25 minutes pp. 13–16; Resolution 2024-01 pp. 26–32); S-67 (February 22 agenda pp. 3–4; Item 4 staff report pp. 19–20); February 22, 2024 OIAA Commission minutes (signed)

The attached September 18 Commission minutes record approval of additional August 2025 stipends for President Alan Wapner as Consent Calendar Item 4.

The minutes establish approval of the item but do not state the number of additional functions or the dollar amount. The October 23 agenda packet separately seeks approval for September 2025 after reporting 11 additional functions.

Wapner present?
Yes — listed as present in the September 18 minutes.
Participation
The minutes place the item within the consent calendar; they do not identify an individual vote or abstention on Item 4.
Vote
Consent Calendar approved 4 Yes / 0 No; the minutes do not record a separate roll-call vote on Item 4.
Conflict declaration
No conflicts were declared in the September 18 minutes.

Primary documents: S-68 (September 18 minutes pp. 11–15; October 23 agenda pp. 1–2; Item 4 staff report p. 19)

February 26 agenda materials sought approval of additional stipends for President Alan Wapner for Authority-related functions performed during January 2026. Current OIAA minutes record consent-calendar approval by participating commissioners. The same minutes contain an apparent internal inconsistency: attendance/voting portions identify Wapner as an excused absence, while language elsewhere in the record attributes the call to order to President Wapner.

January 2026 additional stipends: 11 additional Authority-related functions reported in the staff report at $150 each = $1,650 additional stipend submitted for Commission approval. Current OIAA minutes record approval. Actual disbursement not established from a payment record.

Wapner present?
UNDER REVIEW — internally inconsistent within the meeting record
Participation
UNDER REVIEW — current minutes do not list Wapner among participating commissioners; attendance notation is internally inconsistent
Vote
DOCUMENT VERSION / RECORD INTEGRITY UNDER REVIEW — current minutes record approval; publication and version history not yet established
Conflict declaration
Not recorded in current minutes; record integrity under review

Primary documents: February 26, 2026 OIAA agenda materials; subsequently located OIAA minutes — record accessed September 22, 2026

The April 23, 2026 OIAA Commission minutes record approval of additional March 2026 stipends for President Alan Wapner as a consent-calendar item. Wapner was present. The relevant consent-calendar items passed 5–0. The minutes report no conflicts of interest declared.

March 2026 additional stipends authorized by the Commission. Actual disbursement not established from a payment record.

Wapner present?
Yes — present when the consent calendar containing his additional March 2026 stipend authorization was considered.
Participation
Yes — Wapner was present for the consent-calendar vote. The minutes do not record a separate roll-call vote on the stipend item or an abstention by Wapner.
Vote
AUTHORIZATION VERIFIED — WAPNER PRESENT. 5 Yes / 0 No / 0 Absent. No conflicts of interest declared.
Conflict declaration
No conflicts of interest declared per April 23 minutes. This does not establish whether disclosure or recusal was legally required; that legal question remains separately open.

Primary documents: April 23, 2026 OIAA Commission minutes

The attached May 28 Commission minutes record approval of additional April 2026 stipends for President Alan Wapner as Consent Calendar Item 4.

The minutes establish approval of the April item but do not state the number of additional functions or dollar amount. The June 25 agenda separately seeks approval for May 2026 after reporting five additional functions.

Wapner present?
Yes — listed as present in the May 28 minutes.
Participation
The minutes place the item within the consent calendar; they do not identify an individual vote or abstention on Item 4.
Vote
Agenda Items 2–13 approved 4 Yes / 0 No / 1 Absent; the minutes do not record a separate roll-call vote on Item 4.
Conflict declaration
No conflicts were declared in the May 28 minutes.

Primary documents: S-69 (May 28 minutes pp. 11–15; June 25 agenda pp. 1–2; Item 4 staff report p. 19)

Unresolved compensation question

January 2024 unresolved compensation question

The January 25, 2024 resolution took effect on its adoption date. A February 22 staff report concerning January lists 17 additional functions and repeats earlier $150-per-function language. The currently identified record does not establish which formula was applied to the entire month, the authorized amount, or an actual payment.

  • Was the revised formula applied immediately or with transitional treatment?
  • What amount, if any, did the Commission authorize for January 2024?
  • What amount, if any, was paid according to an accounting record?

Stipend authorization reconstruction

Master compensation table

This table identifies authorization evidence only. “Payment verified” remains unknown unless a Wapner-specific accounting record has been identified.

Compensation monthApplicable bylawAdditional functionsAdditional amountApproval dateWapner present?Vote / absencePayment verified?Evidence
December 2024$1,00012 reported$1,800 (12 × $150)YesPresent; consent calendar approved 4–0. Minutes do not record an abstention from Item 4.No — cash-disbursement/payroll record not obtainedS-60 (agenda p. 3; staff report pp. 15–16); S-61 (attached minutes pp. 11–13)
January 2025$1,00013 reported$1,950 (13 × $150)No — absentAbsent; did not participate in the recorded consent-calendar vote.No — cash-disbursement/payroll record not obtainedS-61 (agenda p. 2; staff report pp. 17–18); S-62 (attached minutes pp. 9–12)
February 2025$1,00014 reported$2,100 (14 × $150)Not established from supplied recordFinal action not established; only the agenda and staff report are available.No — cash-disbursement/payroll record not obtainedS-62 (agenda p. 3; staff report pp. 15–16)
September 2017Original Article IV, Section 6 formula — $150 per qualifying function, maximum six per month3 reported$450 arithmetic at $150 per reported function; approval requestedNot established from supplied agenda packetNot establishedNo — payment record not identifiedS-71 (agenda pp. 3–4; Item 4 staff report pp. 20–21)
June 2020Original Article IV, Section 6 formula — $150 per qualifying function, maximum six per monthNot stated in the supplied minutesNot stated in the supplied minutesYes — present via ZoomPresent; consent calendar included the stipend itemNo — payment record not identifiedS-65 (attached July 23 minutes pp. 8–13)
July 2020Original Article IV, Section 6 formula — $150 per qualifying function, maximum six per month14 reported$2,100 arithmetic at $150 per reported function; approval requestedNot established from supplied agenda packetNot establishedNo — payment record not identifiedS-65 (agenda pp. 2–4; Item 4 staff report pp. 18–19)
October 2020Original Article IV, Section 6 formula — $150 per qualifying function, maximum six per month7 reported$1,050 arithmetic at $150 per reported function; approval requestedNot established from supplied agenda packetNot establishedNo — payment record not identifiedS-72 (agenda pp. 2–4; Item 4 staff report pp. 15–16)
August 2023Original Article IV, Section 6 formula — $150 per qualifying function, maximum six per monthNot stated in the supplied minutesNot stated in the supplied minutesYesPresent; consent calendar included the stipend itemNo — payment record not identifiedS-74 (attached September 28 minutes pp. 11–14)
September 2023Original Article IV, Section 6 formula — $150 per qualifying function, maximum six per month6 reported$900 arithmetic at $150 per reported function; subsequently approvedYesPresent; consent calendar included the stipend item. His recorded abstention concerned separate Item 6.No — payment record not identifiedS-74 (Item 4 staff report p. 17); S-75 (attached October 26 minutes pp. 11–15)
October 2023Original Article IV, Section 6 formula — $150 per qualifying function, maximum six per month14 reported$2,100 arithmetic at $150 per reported function; subsequently approvedYesPresent; consent calendar included the stipend itemNo — payment record not identifiedS-75 (Item 4 staff report p. 19); S-76 (attached November 30 minutes pp. 9–12)
November 2023Original Article IV, Section 6 formula — $150 per qualifying function, maximum six per month5 reported$750 arithmetic at $150 per reported function; subsequently approvedYesPresent; consent calendar included the stipend itemNo — payment record not identifiedS-76 (Item 4 staff report p. 15); S-66 (attached December 21 minutes pp. 9–10)
September 2022Original Article IV, Section 6 formula — $150 per qualifying function, maximum six per month4 reported$600 arithmetic at $150 per reported function; approval requestedNot established from supplied October 27 agenda packetNot establishedNo — payment record not identifiedS-77 (agenda pp. 2–3; Item 4 staff report pp. 19–20)
January 2024Transition unresolved — Resolution 2024-01 took effect January 25; the February 22 staff report repeats the earlier $150-per-function language17 reportedNot established — the record does not state an authorized amountNo — absent. Official February 22, 2024 OIAA minutes confirm Wapner was absent from the meeting.APPROVAL VERIFIED — WAPNER ABSENT. Wapner did not participate in the consent-calendar vote approving this stipend authorization. Vote was 3–0 with Gouw and Wapner both absent.No — cash-disbursement/payroll record not obtainedS-66 (Resolution 2024-01, pp. 26–32); S-67 (agenda pp. 3–4; Item 4 staff report pp. 19–20)
September 2025$1,000 formula in revised bylaws11 reported$1,650 (11 × $150) proposedListed in October 23 agenda; final attendance not establishedFinal action not established; the supplied October 23 record is an agenda and staff report.No — cash-disbursement/payroll record not obtainedS-68 (agenda pp. 1–2; Item 4 staff report p. 19)
January 2026$1,000 formula in revised bylaws11 additional Authority-related functions (per February 26 staff report)$1,650 (11 × $150) — amount submitted for Commission approval per staff report; not independently established from a payment recordUNDER REVIEW — Current OIAA minutes identify Wapner as an excused absence; same record contains language apparently attributing the call to order to President Wapner. Internal inconsistency not resolved.UNDER REVIEW — Current OIAA minutes record consent-calendar approval by participating commissioners without Wapner listed among them. Whether an earlier version of this record existed has not been established.No — cash-disbursement/payroll record not obtainedFebruary 26, 2026 OIAA agenda materials (agenda/staff report); subsequently located OIAA minutes for February 26, 2026 — record accessed September 22, 2026
March 2026$1,000 formula in revised bylawsSubmitted for approval per April 23 agenda materialsAmount submitted for approval per April 23 staff report; not independently established from a payment recordYes — Wapner was present when the consent calendar containing his additional March 2026 stipend authorization was considered.AUTHORIZATION VERIFIED — WAPNER PRESENT FOR CONSENT-CALENDAR VOTE. The relevant consent-calendar items passed 5–0. The minutes report no conflicts of interest declared.No — cash-disbursement/payroll record not obtainedApril 23, 2026 OIAA Commission minutes
April 2026$1,000 formula in revised bylawsSubmitted for approval per May 28 agenda materials; number not stated in the minutesAmount submitted for approval; not independently established from a payment recordYes — listed as present in the May 28 minutes.AUTHORIZATION VERIFIED — WAPNER PRESENT FOR CONSENT-CALENDAR VOTE. Agenda Items 2–13 approved 4 Yes / 0 No / 1 Absent (Loveridge). The minutes do not record a separate roll-call vote on the stipend item or an abstention by Wapner. No conflicts of interest declared.No — cash-disbursement/payroll record not obtainedS-69 (May 28 minutes pp. 11–15)
May 2026$1,000 formula in revised bylaws5 reported$750 (5 × $150) proposedListed in June 25 agenda; final attendance not establishedFinal action not established; the supplied June 25 record is an agenda and staff report.No — cash-disbursement/payroll record not obtainedS-69 (agenda pp. 1–2; Item 4 staff report p. 19)

The reported $233,449

The figure is treated as media reporting, not as a primary-record payment finding. It will not be forced to equal the incomplete authorization record.

Media-reported stipends
$233,449
Primary-record authorized total
Incomplete — the available primary record set does not support a complete authorized-total calculation.
Primary-record verified-paid total
Incomplete — no Wapner-specific stipend payment ledger has been identified in the reviewed records.
Unresolved difference
Pending reconciliation

Four distinct money categories

Stipends

Commissioner compensation authorized under the bylaws.

Reimbursements

Repayment of necessary expenses; not automatically compensation.

Travel and expenses paid by OIAA

Agency-paid costs are distinct from money paid directly to an individual.

Other compensation or benefits

No complete primary-record accounting has been identified in the records reviewed here.

Primary records

Source document library

A direct OIAA document link is only shown after it is independently verified. For many records, Wapner Watch provides both the original OIAA-hosted document and an archived copy preserved for public access. The agency source establishes provenance; the archive helps preserve access if the government’s URL changes.

S-60PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — January 23, 2025 agenda packet, Item 4

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda p. 3; staff report pp. 15–16

Agenda page 3 places Item 4, Commissioner’s Stipends, on the consent calendar. Staff-report pages 15–16 quote Article IV, Section 6 and state that Wapner attended 12 additional Authority-related business functions in December 2024. The packet requests majority approval of the additional stipends. The available agenda packet does not itself establish a payment.

S-61PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — February 27, 2025 Commission meeting packet

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda p. 2; staff report pp. 17–18; attached minutes pp. 11–13

Agenda page 2 and staff-report pages 17–18 place the January 2025 additional-stipend item on the February 27 consent calendar and state 13 additional functions. Attached January 23 minutes at pages 11–13 identify Wapner as present, state no conflicts were declared, and record approval of the December item in a 4 Yes/0 No/1 Absent (Gouw) consent-calendar vote.

S-62PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — March 17, 2025 special-meeting agenda packet

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Staff report pp. 15–16; attached February minutes pp. 9–12

Attached February 27 minutes at pages 9–12 identify Wapner as absent, state no conflicts were declared, and record the January 2025 additional-stipend item’s approval in a 4 Yes/0 No/1 Absent (Wapner) consent-calendar vote. Staff-report pages 15–16 state 14 additional February functions and seek approval under the same formula; later minutes are needed to confirm final March 17 action.

S-63PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — January 23, 2025 signed Commission meeting minutes

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Signed minutes; consent calendar and attendance

Signed minutes preserved separately from the February 27 packet. This archival copy supports the recorded attendance, no-conflicts notation, and consent-calendar vote referenced in the January 23 record. It does not independently establish payment.

S-64PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — September 24, 2019 amended agenda packet

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda pp. 2–3; Item 4 staff report pp. 17–18

Agenda Item 4 and the staff report seek approval of additional stipends for Wapner for July and August 2019. The report states two additional Authority-related functions in each month and quotes the then-effective $150-per-function formula; it says full Commission approval was needed. This packet does not include the September 24 minutes, so final action, vote, attendance, and payment are not established here.

S-65PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — August 27, 2020 agenda packet

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda pp. 2–4; Item 4 staff report pp. 18–19; attached July 23 minutes pp. 8–13

Agenda Item 4 and the staff report seek approval of additional July 2020 stipends for Wapner. The report identifies 14 additional Authority-related functions and quotes the then-effective $150-per-function formula. Attached July 23 minutes separately show Wapner present and record approval of June 2020 stipends. The packet does not include August 27 minutes, so its final action, vote, attendance, and payment are not established.

S-66PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — January 25, 2024 Commission meeting packet / Resolution No. 2024-01

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda p. 3; Item 4 staff report pp. 15–16; January 25 minutes pp. 13–16; revised bylaws pp. 21–24 and 30–32; Resolution No. 2024-01 pp. 26–32

The January 25 agenda sought approval of four additional December 2023 functions for Wapner. Attached January 25 minutes record the consent calendar and Resolution No. 2024-01 as unanimously approved, with Wapner present; no conflicts were declared. Resolution 2024-01 adopted the revised bylaws, including the $1,000 monthly stipend formula and $150 for each qualifying function beyond six, subject to majority approval. The record does not establish who originated, requested, drafted, or directed the amendment, and it does not itself prove any payment.

S-67PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — February 22, 2024 Commission meeting packet

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda pp. 3–4; attached January 25 minutes pp. 11–16; Item 4 staff report pp. 19–20

Agenda Item 4 and its staff report seek approval of additional January 2024 stipends for Wapner after reporting 17 additional Authority-related functions. The agenda states Wapner would participate by teleconference. Attached January 25 minutes document the prior meeting’s adoption of Resolution No. 2024-01 and state no conflicts were declared. February 22 minutes or a certified action record are required to confirm the later stipend vote, attendance, and payment.

S-68PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — October 23, 2025 agenda packet

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda pp. 1–2; attached September 18 minutes pp. 11–15; Item 4 staff report p. 19

Attached September 18 minutes record approval of additional August 2025 stipends for Wapner in a 4 Yes/0 No consent-calendar vote, with Wapner present and no conflicts declared; the minutes do not state the number of functions or amount. The October 23 agenda and staff report separately seek approval for September 2025 after reporting 11 additional functions. The October 23 final action, attendance, vote, and payment require later minutes or a certified record.

S-69PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — June 25, 2026 agenda packet

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda pp. 1–2; attached May 28 minutes pp. 11–15; Item 4 staff report p. 19

Attached May 28 minutes record approval of additional April 2026 stipends for Wapner within Agenda Items 2–13, by a 4 Yes/0 No/1 Absent vote, with Wapner present and no conflicts declared; the minutes do not state the number of functions or amount. The June 25 agenda and staff report separately seek approval for May 2026 after reporting five additional functions. The June 25 final action, attendance, vote, and payment require later minutes or a certified record.

S-70PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — December 8, 2016 special Commission meeting minutes

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Minutes pp. 1–3 (PDF pp. 1–3)

Minutes record Wapner as Commission President and present, and record unanimous adoption of Resolution No. 2016-014 approving and adopting the bylaws, upon a motion by Secretary Dunn and second by Commissioner Hagman. The supplied minutes do not include the adopted bylaws, so this record alone does not establish the original Article IV, Section 6 text, who developed it, or any compensation payment.

S-71PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — October 24, 2017 Commission agenda packet

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda pp. 3–4; Item 4 staff report pp. 20–21

The agenda and Item 4 staff report seek approval of September 2017 additional stipends. The report identifies three additional Authority-related business functions for Wapner and quotes the then-stated $150-per-function formula. The supplied packet does not contain October 24 final minutes, so final approval, vote, attendance, and payment are not established.

S-72PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — November 24, 2020 special Commission agenda packet

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda pp. 2–4; attached October 22 minutes pp. 10–14; Item 4 staff report pp. 15–16

Attached October 22 minutes record Wapner present, no conflicts declared, and a 5–0 consent-calendar approval that included September 2020 stipends. The November 24 Item 4 report seeks approval for October 2020 after reporting seven additional Authority-related business functions; final November 24 action, vote, and payment are not established by this packet.

S-73PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — December 19, 2022 special Commission agenda packet

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda pp. 3–4; attached November 17 minutes pp. 11–13; Item 4 staff report p. 16

Attached November 17 minutes record Wapner absent and approval of October 2022 additional stipends by a 3 Yes/0 No/2 Absent consent-calendar vote. The December 19 Item 4 report seeks approval for November 2022 after reporting five additional Authority-related business functions; final December 19 action, vote, attendance, and payment are not established by this packet.

S-74PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — October 26, 2023 Commission agenda packet

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda pp. 2–3; attached September 28 minutes pp. 11–14; Item 4 staff report p. 17

Attached September 28 minutes record Wapner present, no conflicts declared, and a 4 Yes/0 No/1 Absent consent-calendar approval that included August 2023 additional stipends. The October 26 Item 4 report seeks approval for September 2023 after reporting six additional Authority-related business functions; final October 26 action, vote, and payment are established by the November 30 packet.

S-75PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — November 30, 2023 special Commission agenda packet

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda pp. 3–4; attached October 26 minutes pp. 11–15; Item 4 staff report p. 19

Attached October 26 minutes record Wapner present and approval of September 2023 additional stipends in the consent calendar by a 4 Yes/0 No/1 Absent vote. They also record Wapner's abstention on separate Item 6, not the stipend item. The November 30 Item 4 report seeks approval for October 2023 after reporting 14 additional Authority-related business functions; final November 30 action, vote, and payment are established by the December 21 packet.

S-76PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — December 21, 2023 special Commission agenda packet

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda pp. 2–3; attached November 30 minutes pp. 9–12; Item 4 staff report p. 15

Attached November 30 minutes record Wapner present, no conflicts declared, and unanimous consent-calendar approval that included October 2023 additional stipends. The December 21 Item 4 report seeks approval for November 2023 after reporting five additional Authority-related business functions; final December 21 action, vote, and payment are established by the January 25, 2024 packet.

S-77PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — October 27, 2022 Commission agenda packet

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda pp. 2–3; attached September 22 minutes pp. 11–14; Item 4 staff report pp. 19–20

The October 27 agenda and Item 4 staff report seek approval of additional September 2022 stipends for Wapner after reporting four additional Authority-related business functions. Attached September 22 minutes record Wapner present, no conflicts declared, and a 5 Yes/0 No consent-calendar approval of additional commissioner stipends; the minutes do not identify a Wapner-specific month or amount. The supplied packet does not include October 27 final minutes, so final action on the September 2022 request and any payment are not established.

S-78PRIMARY RECORD — GOVERNMENT SOURCE

Ontario International Airport Authority — December 8, 2016 agenda packet / original bylaws

Agency
Ontario International Airport Authority
Document date
Relevant pages
Agenda packet; verify rendered pages for Resolution No. 2016-014 and Article IV, Section 6

Agenda packet and staff materials associated with adoption of Resolution No. 2016-014 and the original OIAA bylaws. This record is kept separate from S-70: S-78 documents the proposed/adopted bylaw language and staff presentation; S-70 records the Commission attendance and action.

Open investigative questions

Who developed the original 2016 commissioner compensation formula?

Records still needed include Budget and Bylaws Ad Hoc Committee membership, agendas, minutes, drafts, redlines, staff communications, fiscal analysis, and legal review.

Who originated Resolution 2024-01's compensation change?

Records still needed include draft bylaws, redlines, staff memoranda, agenda-development records, communications, fiscal analysis, and any earlier meeting discussion.

Evidence rules used on this page

Authorized is not paid

An agenda or Commission vote may establish a request or authorization but does not independently verify a disbursement.

Archived is not original

A preserved copy is shown as an archive copy and is never presented as an authoritative direct-agency source.

Qualifying evidence stays visible

Records of absence, abstention, or non-participation are included alongside records of participation.

Records we are still seeking

  1. Budget and Bylaws Ad Hoc Committee records preceding December 8, 2016.
  2. Drafts, redlines, and communications concerning Resolution 2024-01.
  3. A complete commissioner stipend ledger for 2016–2026.
  4. Wapner-specific payment, reimbursement, travel, expense-report, payroll, and cash-disbursement records.
  5. Records identifying the governmental functions supporting each additional stipend claim.
  6. OIAA legal or conflict analysis concerning commissioner votes on stipend authorization.
  7. February 26, 2026 OIAA minutes: publication history, version history, PDF metadata, any prior version, Internet Archive captures, and Commission approval of those minutes — to resolve the internal attendance inconsistency in the current record.

Research & corrections history

Evidence reconciliation: (1) February 22, 2024 entry updated — official signed minutes confirm Wapner absent, vote 3–0 (Gouw and Wapner absent); status changed to APPROVAL VERIFIED — WAPNER ABSENT. (2) February 26, 2026 entry updated — staff report specifics added (11 functions / $1,650). (3) February 26 record-integrity section updated — March 26, 2026 agenda packet located; contradictory attendance language confirmed present in that earlier official record; later-correction hypothesis not established by current version history. (4) April 23, 2026 entry added — Wapner present, 5–0, no conflicts declared (March 2026 stipends). (5) May 28, 2026 compensation record added — Wapner present, 4–0, Loveridge absent, no conflicts declared (April 2026 stipends).

Located OIAA minutes for the February 26, 2026 meeting. Minutes record approval of January 2026 additional stipends and identify Wapner as an excused absence, but contain an apparent internal inconsistency (attendance notation vs. call-to-order language). Record integrity and publication/version history placed under review. Previously documented evidentiary state preserved. Evidentiary sequence and version-history research flag added.

Added an archived October 27, 2022 public packet and reconciled the September 2022 additional-stipend request. The packet does not include October 27 final minutes, so final action and payment remain unverified.

Created this dossier to separate the underlying OIAA record from the Evidence Matrix summary and preserve documented limitations.